Overall, others give this:

8 Reviews
3 Reviewers (70.0%) would recommend this to a friend.
Overall Rating Breakdown:
5 stars
(4)
4 stars
(0)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(1)
1 stars
(2)
Sort By
This washing machine rocks!.
Nov 20, 2011

KPoling
Augusta, MI

After much research, we decided to go with the Whirlpool Duet front loader. I absolutely love it. It washes extremely well and is quiet. You have the option of a normal wash cyle which is 59 minutes (and many others), including a quick wash. The hand washing cycle is gentle and works well. This was a great choice for my family. No problem with odor in the front loader, but I have been following instructions to leave the door ajar when the machine is not in use.

I hate this front-load Whirlpool Duet washer..
Oct 13, 2011

MinnesotaMom
Rochester, MN

This is my first experience with a front loading washer.  I absolutely hate this machine.  I was prepared for long wash times, but that is the least of the problems.

1. There is no filter to trap lint or pet hair. The clothes come out covered in lint, worse than when you put them in.

2. The machine does a poor job of getting clothes clean.  It never removes the slightest trace of oil or grease.  I end up washing everything twice if I fail to notice and pre-treat a greasy spot.  Doesn't matter what temperature or detergent used.  I never had to pre-treat spots before with my top loader.  There is no energy or water savings if garments have to be washed twice.

3.  No manual settings.  Sometimes, you just want to spin another 5 minutes.  Impossible to do any manual functions, as the machine "senses" what you need.  Ha!  It's doing a very poor job.

4. Worst problem is that the machine does not drain properly and finishes the cycle with clothes soaking wet and 2 inches of water in the tub and in the gray rubber gasket.  I've tried increasing and decreasing the size of the load to try to get it to balance and do its job, but no luck.

I've called for service, and if they cannot get the machine to perform I will ask Sears to replace it with a model that works.

Very disappointed consumer.

Oh, I should add...the machine looks nice, love the red color. Too bad it doesnt work.

WONT SPIN OUT CLOTHES.
Jun 21, 2011

fjnbear2
Kearney, NE

You had better pay attention to the reviews about not spinning out and shutting off. Had a tech check it said there was a problem with the control boards causing that.He put in the " updated" board. The very next load i did, it didnt spin out. They are coming back out the 27th to " fix it ".Also it doesnt put but VERY little water in for washing.If not fixed soon will be replacing it, but dont know with what. They are all made the same way now.Should have stayed with my old duet sport.Had it LONG time with NO problems. Newer is NOT better.

Same problem. It doesn't always spin.
May 2, 2011

RainRobLane
Renton, WA

I have had the same problem as a previous reviewer. Sometimes it turns off without going through the final spin cycle, leaving the clothes sopping wet. We had a technician look at it and he said he could not see anything wrong with it. He suggested that we set it to a lower spin speed, but that is unacceptable to me. The high spin speed is a great feature because it lets clothes spend less time in the dryer where the heat can be damaging. I have had three service calls on it and no solution. Hopefully I am going to get a new machine and it will work as well as the happy reviewers are saying.

Whirlpool Duet Front Load Washer is quiet, almost no vibration.
Apr 28, 2011

llschouten
Columbia, MO

We had to replace our LG front load washer because it vibrated our second story too much. I was skeptical this washer could fit the bill, and worried that it too would have vibration problems. I was pleasantly suprised. It does a great job re-balancing the loads and is really quiet. While I was sorry to see my LG go, I am very happy with this one. It does a great job!

whirpool .
Mar 6, 2011

NoreenSadler1
Hamilton, GA

Reference to the customer dated Jan 2011. You may need to check if the 4 red tags were taken off the washer on the back of the washer. Maybe thats why your drum is off Balance.

This Whirlpool Duet is an absolute dream!.
Feb 28, 2011

VegasDave
Las Vegas, NV

Do NOT pay attention to the other reviewer (maxxcor) regarding balanced loads. This washer is a dream washer. Everything works incredibly well and it is loaded with features. It is quiet and washes clothes very well---gets them very clean. There is never a problem with balancing or spinning. Who knows what the other reviewer was doing or what he was rating. It was not the WFW95HEX! Truly, this is an amazingly good washer. It is a step up from the 94HEX which was the top-rated washer this month in ****************. It is well worth it to upgrade to this one, which has additional features like an Oxi dispenser, a jeans cycle, and a drum light. Buy it! You won't be sorry! (If you do, then rate it a 5-star to balance out the other reviewer). I never knew washing could be so fun.

Washes well, balancing load can be very difficult..
Jan 15, 2011

maxxcor
Seattle, WA