Overall, others give this:

11 Reviews
6 Reviewers (90.0%) would recommend this to a friend.
Overall Rating Breakdown:
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(1)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(1)
1 stars
(3)

Most Helpful Reviews7 found this helpful

Positive Reviews Tue, Nov 1, 2011

Malayah
Skeptical but GREAT so far!
I'm very **** so of course I did extensive research before deciding on a washer. It took me about a month to decide. I had a hard time choosing as I received conflicting opinions. My appliance repair guy said to ONLY buy Whirlpool products. In his 30 years of experience he stated that Whirlpool was the most reliable brand and had the least amount of repair needed. He also advised me to stay away from LG and Samsung due to the fact that they are made in Korea. If repair is needed on these brands, the parts take longer to order and also cost more than American made parts. Sales people confirmed this info regarding the parts.

However, many reviews online for LG products were positive and seemed to have good ratings. Also, the sales people at the stores had good things to say about LG and it seems to have a good track record. Samsung also had good reviews however, it is very new to the laundry industry (laundry line created to keep up with LG) therefore personally I do not trust it as much since it's still a fairly new brand as far as washers go.

I based my final decision on a side to side comparison. Based on my laundry area size, I had to purchase a top load washer but I was fine with that as I read many complaints about front loading odor problems. I compared the LG, Samsung & Whirlpool (I didn't care for GE or Maytag) and the Whirlpool 4.6 Cabrio platinum had the most features and the best price. The other brands costed relatively more yet had less features so this was a no brainer. I really wanted the LG as it has a hot clean cycle to clean the washer but Whirlpool has a clean cycle as well but you have to add a cleaning product which is fine because you really don't need to clean your washer often.

The only thing that kept me from purchasing this product was the ONE bad review on this product. It's so new that there were NO reviews but the one bad one. However, I took the chance based on my EXTENSIVE research and hoped that the customer with the bad review simply got a fluke bad washer. I will have to check back in about a month since I've only had this washer for one day but trust me I did TONS of laundry last night and this washer holds ALOT of laundry and did a great job of cleaning. I watched the cycles and found that the clothes were fully submersed in water and were cleaned very well. I was skeptical as I read many reviews on washers saying they only moved a little back and forth and portions were still dry. This is NOT the case with this Whirlpool. So far I am ecstatic and pleased. I now need to purchase a new dryer because this washer holds so much laundry that I need a bigger dryer to keep up with it! I LOVE THIS WASHER SO FAR! I will be back for an update.

I forgot to mention that I I really like that you don't have to pull out a tray to put your detergent and softener in. I feel like that will break over time.

Most Helpful Reviews6 found this helpful

Negative Reviews Wed, Mar 20, 2013

costlymistake
Started out fantastic...but....didn't end up that way
Purchased this about 4 years ago. It was fantastic at first. Washed clothes cleaner than any machine we had before. But...then things started breaking after just 1 year. The poor design of the barrel allows coins to go down to the drain pumps. (So don't miss a penny in a pocket or it will wreak havoc!) If a single coin gets into the drain pump they shoot around and crack the pump and water will drain out. We have now replaced the pump 3 times in 3 years!!! Now there is water draining from the barrel and we think a seal might be out and the bearings. So, more money to sink into an already VERY expensive machine! So besides the initial cost which was approx $700 when we bought it 4 years ago, we have now spent over $300 in parts with more to go. Not impressed anymore to say the least!
Sort By
Washer.
Jun 28, 2013

lmh84
Weatherford, TX
Nice Washing Machine.
Jun 20, 2013

rcclover
Whitesboro, TX
Started out fantastic...but....didn't end up that way .
Mar 20, 2013

costlymistake
Six Lakes, MI
Poor Reliability.
Dec 21, 2012

pdqtimetrialer
Euclid, OH
Very Happy.
Sep 27, 2012

SEbol
Manassas, VA
Please Don't Buy This Washing Machine!.
Aug 13, 2012

zoeysmom7
Salinas, CA

I don't usually write reviews, but I feel like I have to with this washer. It is awful. My clothes do not get clean, there isn't enough water to clean the clothes. It spins so fast that your clothes end up wadded up around the edges of the machine. Wash cycle just swishes wadded up clothes back and forth, then spins them some more. I had a 4 year extended service agreement, that I used twice. The first visit the tech replaced the agitator, and the piece at the top of the washing tub, both items had been recalled, due to problems, but I was not notified. In other words, if you don't complain, they don't bother to fix problems. The second call was due to the machine making strange noises and sounding like there were marbles rolling around in it, and water leaking out of the bottom. The tech said, and I kid you not "you just need your balls greased". Well it did fix the problem for about a year. At this point we are putting up with this expensive piece of junk going on six years, and it is leaking a gallon of water at a time and I guess those balls need greasing again, because the marbles rolling sound is back. I just purchased an LG front loader, based on the great reviews about it. Tomorrow the Whirlpool Cabrio Top Loader will be in a junk yard somewhere, where it belonged in the first place. Wish me luck with the LG. 

This is a great washer!.
Jul 5, 2012

MadMatt
Pottstown, PA
Best washer i have ever used.
Jul 2, 2012

commiecam
Georgetown, DE
I wouldn't give this appliance to my worst enemy!.
Apr 17, 2012

Dontbuythismach
Calexico, CA
So far, so good!.
Nov 10, 2011

p032504
Charlotte, NC

I always check reviews before buying, & there are so few out there on this machine that I thought I should add one.  I read so many negatives on other HE top-loaders that I was nervous about purchasing this one - clothes getting tangled, cycles taking too long, hot water coming out instead of cold water, clothes coming out with dry spots, clothes getting ruined, clothes not clean, etc.  I have done about 10 loads of laundry in the past 2 days & have had none of those things happen.  This seems like a solidly built washer that can handle most anything.

I was talked out of a front-loader because my laundry is on the second floor, plus I didn't want or have room for the pedestals.  I chose between this set, the #1 rated Samsung, & a Kenmore Elite (all top-loaders).  Horrible reviews for the Kenmore & high price of the Samsung led me to purchase this set.

I do read the manual on most anything I buy, & I did read it on this.  I follow the directions of loading the clothes loosely around the washplate.  I make sure the center of the washplate is visible.  Once I put the detergent in, I walk away & it does the rest!  (Even though I love watching it do its job through the glass top!)

Hopefully this will stand the test of time & last many years.